Boys Don’t Cry…

Due to the assumption that I truely agreed with the criticism of Spider-Man 3 from Crazy Right Winger Debbie Schlussel…I think I need to explain a couple things.

I fully intend to see Spider-Man 3.  I’ve enjoyed the series so far.  I am excited to see how Raimi and crew handle the third film. I could care less if he cries.  That’s part of Peter Parker.  He is constantly struggling between his desires and his responsibilities.  That’s his humanity, that’s why people relate.  Maybe some people want their super-heroes to be without fault.  Not me.  I can’t connect to that.

I want heroes to be people who struggle, and mostly overcome, not people who find it easy to always do the right thing.  Doing the right thing is hard.  Denying self is hard.  That’s what makes Spidey agreat character, as much as he struggles with not wanting to give up what he wants?  When it’s required, he makes the choices he has to, not what he wants.

If struggles mean tears?  Than more power to Spidey.  I am there.

Secondly?  I have no respect for any definition of masculinity that suggests tears are somehow bad.  If expressing an emotion, if tears being shed means you are a lesser man?  So be it.  I find it interesting how many church going men seem prone to this.  We have more than one reference to God weeping.  Jesus wept.  And he even asked God to take away the cup of suffering he was set to endure.  Jesus asked God for alternative options to having to be put to death.  Guess that Jesus was a girlie man.

So, to restate it:  I see nothing wrong with men (even super hero men) crying.  I encourage it.  I will in fact see Spider-Man 3.

Oh, and Debbie, you insist on using the phrase “girlie men”… you do realize that when Hanz and Franz were using that phrase on SNL, well, the whole point of the phrase and sketch was a mocker of your hallowed absurdist ideal of what masculinity is?  They were mocking you.

7 thoughts on “Boys Don’t Cry… Leave a comment

  1. :O

    How could nebody think you agreed with her!? :O

    Unless, they.. like.. never read your blog and just showed up to criticize you XD

    I dun like this “boys shouldn’t cry” thing… 😦 I rly dun… it’s the same as “girls SHOULD cry”. :\

    When male heroes get angry they punch a wall or scream in the rain or something.. when female heroes get angry, they cry and stuff… :\

    It’s basically the same, but it enforces stereotypes 😦 And also tells guys that they should hold it in and release it as violent anger… which is bad 😦

    Spider-Man SHOULD cry. It’s in his character to! 😐

    I’m shocked that BATMAN doesn’t cry occasionally. Or his many Robins :O

    The stuff they’ve seen o_o;;

    Or even Superman! Superman’s a sensitive soul, and he hopes for the best and to see all the evil in the universe… 😦

    What’s wrong with crying? 😦 It’s moving 😐 And it’s a good way of showing just how tough their situation is and how bad the evil is :\

  2. I actually kind of feel it is appropriate that Batman not cry. It plays to a certain aspect of the character keeping his emotions closely guarded.

  3. Actually I think Superman should cry less given his position. In private, sure, that’s fine, but all these images of Superman crying in public are getting kind of old. I mean, imagine if Franklin Roosevelt broke down and started bawling.

  4. I think that’s good advice for most super heroes (regardless of gender). The idea that they keep their game face on in costume, but might break don’t when they get home to family, that works. Crying in a fight against your arch enemy? Not so good. 😉

  5. Yeah.

    I think the problem with Superman is the image of him cradling Supergirl in his arms from the cover of Crisis #5. That was the one time I think it was really truly justified for Superman to cry in public, because it was a really heroic sacrifice on Kara’s part and really the first time he had ever experienced that kind of loss.

    Unfortunately, that one image has had such a huge impact on comics culture that it continues to be imitated over and over to this day. Which is what Kal-L precipitated Infinite Crisis for, really.

Leave a comment